6 Ways to Make Your Mornings Way Better

goal1

For most of us, mornings can be…quite the challenge.

Oh, who are we kidding. Mornings are the absolute worst. You always wake up in a bad mood and want to murder everyone who sings that Good Morning song from Singin’ in the Rain. Not for me, though. I am the anomaly of the human race. I…am a morning person.

Okay, I didn’t used to be. I actually wrote a whole post once about how much I hated mornings. That all changed, however, when I started changing my mindset and realized that mornings didn’t have to be so bad after all.

Actually…they can be great.

If you’re anything like I used to be, here are a few tips to make your mornings not just bearable, but maybe even better:

goal2

You know what I mean. Stretch if you have to, but get out of bed. Don’t just turn that alarm clock off. Our alarm clocks are basically useless at this point, because we don’t even hit the snooze button anymore – we just turn the damn thing off. And then we get mad when we end up late. Where’s the logic in that?

Here’s the thing: you’re already awake. Going back to sleep won’t do you any good. It’s not going to complete your sleep cycle, it’s just going to start another sleep cycle. So force yourself up. (And maybe sleep at ten next time instead of bingewatching that new Netflix series. I know, I love Kimmy Schmidt too.)

goal3

In my room, I have a framed picture that only says “Today I Will Create” and every morning, I write something under it. Sometimes it doesn’t work out – instead of “Today I Will Create a new blog post” it says “Today I Will Create do laundry” but for the most part, it gives me something to look forward to every morning. (Huge thank you to Mr. Kate for this idea!)

Maybe you don’t have to do exactly that – after all, maybe your life isn’t creation based – but just taking the time to list something to look forward do in the day really pumps you up. It gives you a reason to start a day. So invest in a whiteboard and a dry erase pen, and get listing.

goal4

Set aside an hour to just subscribe to things that are important to you. E-mail subscriptions are another great thing to look forward to every morning – pretty soon, they’ll feel like your friends, and your mornings feel incomplete without reading them.

Thankfully, there are a whole bunch of e-mail subscriptions for all kinds of people. Is the news important to you? TheSkimm gives you the CliffNotes version of what’s going in the world! Is your horoscope important to you? Horoscope.com gives you a daily e-mail newsletter of both your horoscope and your tarot cards. Are hot guys important to you? Well…Buzzfeed has a Dude a Day newsletter…so that’s that.

goal5

My first morning run was really the start of me becoming a morning person. Now, I really like exercising – I’ve been working out since I was 14 – but ever since I moved and got a new job, I found it harder and harder to make time for my exercise. I used to do it after my day ended, but now my job is so demanding my day goes on even after it ends. But it just felt wrong not to exercise.

So, I decided to wake up earlier one day and go on a morning run – and boy, did that change everything. Morning runs keep you calm. They help you appreciate the day more. At the same time, the heavy cardio and cool morning breeze pump you up and really get you wide awake. And I only do it for 30 minutes, so it doesn’t take up much of my morning. Go ahead and invest in some good running sneakers as well, and join the cult of overly enthusiastic morning runners.

goal6

I suppose this should go without saying, but I know better. Tons of people don’t eat breakfast every morning. When I was in college, I’d always kill myself because I was starving in my morning class and I couldn’t concentrate. Don’t do the other tips if you really don’t have time to – but please make time for breakfast.

There’s a reason why they call it the most important meal of the day. There’s a proverb that goes, “An empty bag cannot stand upright.” You are the empty bag if you decide to start the day with an empty stomach. And just like the bag, you will not be able to stand upright.

(Hey, that’s why they invented breakfast bars. So you can eat and run at the same time.)

goal7

A break day. A cheat day, if you must. A day where you get to wake up as late as you want to, where you stay in and don’t even put on shoes, much less running ones, where you…well, where you still eat breakfast, of course. (What kind of life are you living if your cheat day doesn’t include food?)

Morning routines are fun and all, but it becomes a problem when it becomes too much of a routine. A break day is a great easy to get your metabolism and stamina in check. My break days are on Saturday – your break day is whenever you want it to be. You deserve a day to be lazy.


Well, I hope I make your mornings a little bit better. Most importantly, always listen to your body. If something doesn’t feel right, it’s probably not right for you. Have a great day!

And good morning!

2 thoughts on “6 Ways to Make Your Mornings Way Better

Leave a Reply

