I’m a Guy Who Isn’t Comfortable Showing His Skin

showinghisskin

It’s summer! The heat is high, the beaches are crowded, and the fun’s just getting started. Everyone’s wearing their shades, their tank tops, and their mini mini shorts. Sun’s out, gun’s out.

Except for mine.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. I’m still going to the beach, cannonballing into pools, and having the time of my life. However, I’ll be doing all that with most of my skin covered. My guns will NOT be out this summer, thank you very much.

Ever since the ripe age of 13, I dropped the shorts and started wearing jeans every day. Even when it was hot. Even when my school allowed us to. Even when we were going to the beach.

And it wasn’t like a prude or anything. On the contrary, I am quite the liberal. I’m very sex positive and body positive, and I don’t believe in slut shamed. A person should be able to dress up however he or she wants and not be judged by it.

I just want to dress up by covering up.

And it’s not like I didn’t try. All the cool guys were wearing shorts and a cap, so I decided to try out the shorts-and-cap ensemble too. It didn’t last very long. The cap was itchy and I felt very uncomfortable having my legs so exposed. It didn’t matter how good I looked because I didn’t feel good in what I was wearing.

And it’s not just shorts either. I hate wearing sleeveless shirts. If I have to wear an undershirt, I’ll suffer the white sleeves poking out. In a music festival, you’ll spot me all sleeved up while everyone else is wearing a tank top. And if I’m going swimming, sure, I wear trunks, but they’re knee length – and I never forget my rashguard.

I don’t hate my body. I love it to death. I’m so thankful for it, and I always make sure to exercise daily and eat right in order to keep it healthy.

But just as I love it, I respect what it’s comfortable with. Some bodies just like to keep their physique real private. And I don’t want to do anything with my body if it doesn’t feel right for me.

Different people have different styles and tastes and bodies, and we’re all comfortable and uncomfortable with different things. The important thing is to know what makes you you, and what makes you feel good. And if you don’t feel like a boss doing something, why do it in the first place?

Leave a Reply

