My Favorite 90’s Animated Series | Nostalgia Corner

nostalgia1

It’s Monday, which means it’s time for another Nostalgia Corner. And what could be more nostalgic than 90’s cartoons?

Seriously, the kind of shows that you watch as a kid can really define you. Were you part of the MTV generation, or the early Disney Channel? Well, while I do remember watching these series as a kid, I found a new love for them when I rewatched them at an older age. So if some of your favorite childhood classics aren’t here, that’s only because I’m making a list of my current favorite 90’s animated shows, not my favorites as a kid. (Much love to Ducktales.)

Anyway, in no particular order, here are my five favorite animated series that came from the 90’s:

1.) Daria

nostalgia2

Daria was a show that only could’ve existed in the 90’s, so in a way, it’s kind of the perfect representation of the decade. I started watching Daria when I was 14 going through my antisocial emo phase, so I thought Daria was the perfect character, and someone I aspired to be. Now that I rewatch it, though, I realize that Daria can be kind of a bitch sometimes. It just makes me appreciate the show more because we have characters that aren’t just one-note and stereotypical – even Quinn is given depths in some episodes.

And if you were part of the MTV generation, this was your favorite show.

2.) Beavis and Butthead

nostalgia3

These idiots. These stupid idiots. These stupid idiots that defined a generation. You know what I’m talking about. When Beavis and Butthead ended, it was the end of an era. These two were so popular they even presented an award during the Oscars. Oh, and the movie (Beavis and Butthead Do America) is a cinematic masterpiece and must be selected by the AFI for preservation. I don’t know, there’s just something about watching these two bumbling idiots get everything wrong that’s so hilarious. And if you didn’t know, Daria was a spinoff of this show.

Are you the Great Cornholio? Do you need tp for your bunghole?

3.) Animaniacs

nostalgia4

When I started out writing, I knew I wanted to be a comedy writer, and I think Animaniacs was one of my biggest influences when making that decision. Animaniacs is one of the funniest shows out there, with jokes as clever and funny and meta as they can get. The show was fun, energetic, and a blast to watch. I mean, if you want to know what the show’s all about, all you have to do is watch the opening. Perfectly sums up the show. (Seriously, I still remember all of the lyrics.)

Also, Yakko helped me remember all of the nations of the world. Thanks, Yakko.

4.) Lizzie McGuire

nostalgia5

OKAY, cheating, I know, but Lizzie McGuire was like, 20% animated, so in my book, it counts. (This is my list, dammit.) Lizzie McGuire just brings something nostalgic in me. Whenever I watch it, I’m suddenly transported back to middle school, where my biggest problems were fighting with my best friend and dealing with the popular kids. There’s this heart to the show that really makes it wholesome and worthwhile. Lizzie McGuire is a character you can relate to and root for.

Also, Lizzie, Gordo, and Miranda were absolute friendship goals. ‘Nuff said.

5.) The Simpsons

nostalgia6

Saving the best for last, are you, Loner? I love this show. I love, love, love this show. This is not only my favorite 90’s cartoon, not only my favorite cartoon, but my favorite show of all time! Up to season 8, the show was absolute golden, with episodes like 22 Short Stories About Springfield to make you die of laughter and episodes like Lisa’s Substitute to make you drown in your tears. There’s just so much I love in this show that it feels wrong to do just a blurb of it and not a full post.

Hmm, that gives me a blog post idea…

And there you go. My five favorite 90’s animated series. What were some of yours? There’s so many I must’ve surely missed a couple. Leave it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

