Hailee Steinfeld’s “Most Girls” is Our New Feminist Anthem

maxresdefault

No joke, when I first heard the title of this song, I was really worried. I like Hailee Steinfeld. In her recent music career, there isn’t a song I dislike from her yet, and I incredibly loved her performance in The Edge of Seventeen. (Seriously, I’m still not tired of rewatching that modern classic.)

However, that title had me worried. Most Girls? Oh no. Was this going to be, “I’m not like most girls”? Nope. I am not going to be a part of that.

But, to my pleasant surprise – I really, really love the song.

There’s something about women celebrating each other that’s just so gosh darn awesome. There’s something about people celebrating each other, definitely, but women are just so marginalized that it’s even better when they’re able to fight against conformity. This song does just that.

Instead of comparing herself to other girls, Hailee is celebrating other girls. She realizes no two girls are the same, and that every girl is special and unique and is beautiful in her own way. There’s no slut shaming here either – some girls like to go out and kiss boys, others like to stay in on a Friday night. Both feel great in their own skin.

I also really like the recent reclaiming of the word “girl”. Supergirl did it. Girlboss did it. And now, Hailee Steinfeld is doing it. I never understood why “girl” was such a dirty word anyway. “You fight like a girl.” Well, I don’t see anything wrong with that, mister. Girls are strong fighters and I’m honored if you think I’m anything like them.

All in all, Most Girls is a pretty damn great song, and there’s nothing wrong with being a girl – girls are amazing and they’re going to rule the world. You can listen to it here:

One thought on “Hailee Steinfeld’s “Most Girls” is Our New Feminist Anthem

Leave a Reply

