Four Best Gifts I’ve Received

gift

I love giving gifts. Really, I do. I love going to the mall and rummaging the shelves, searching for something they’ll like. But more importantly, I love making someone feel special. I love showing them that I thought of them.

And I love receiving them too. It’s a sign of love, a sign of affection, and a sign of friendship. It’s nice to know someone cares enough to buy me something and wrap it up in pretty paper and a bow. It makes me feel appreciated.

I’ve gotten some great gifts in the past years. Here are some of the best ones I’ve received.

1.) Magic Tree House books

marypope

When I was kid, I spent one summer at my late uncle’s house. He showed me my room and on top of my bed were wrapped boxes. They were gifts. Of course, as a kid, I was excited to open them. I wanted to know if they were toys!

They were not toys. They were books.

And so began my identity as a bookworm. I spent a lot of that summer reading. And while some of those books were classics like The Wizard of Oz and The Never-Ending Story, there was one kind that really got to me, and those were the Magic Tree House books.

They were a series of children’s books written by Mary Pope Osbourne, and in each book the main characters Jack and Annie would visit their magic tree house and it would take them all around the world. They were my favorite book series.

I trace it all back to that. My addiction to books, my need to create, my love for all things passionate. If it wasn’t for that summer, I wouldn’t be who I am now.

2.) The Wizard of Oz DVD

wizardofoz

Along with those books came another great gift during my childhood. During a certain birthday (I can’t remember which), my aunt gave me a DVD of The Wizard of Oz with a sticky note that said, “Think you would enjoy the munchkins in this movie. It’s after the tornado.” I did.

Ever since then, The Wizard of Oz has been my absolute favorite movie. It’s the movie I watch when I’m sad and I need some cheering up. There’s just something about it that gets me so happy. I love watching the munchkins sing their song. I love watching Dorothy meet the scarecrow, the tin man and the lion. I love watching the Wicked Witch in every scene she’s in. There’s just so much to love about this movie!

This movie is an absolute treasure to me. I’ve seen it more times than I can count. And heaven knows that’s not stopping any time soon.

3.) The Little Prince

Around the time I was 16 and was far too into young adult and adult books, my best friend gave me a children’s book for Christmas. It was The Little Prince by Aintoine de Saint-Exupery. It then became my favorite book of all time.

The Little Prince pretty much came to me at the right time in my life. I was about to graduate from high school, and I needed to make all these adult decisions like what college I wanted to go to and what I wanted to do in my life. I needed a book that reminded me what it felt like to be a kid. I needed a book that told me growing up didn’t have to be so scary.

If you haven’t read The Little Prince, you definitely should – especially if you’re no longer a kid. It’s all about growing up and what we lose and forget when we become adults. It’s a great read and one that gets better and better the more you read it.

“Grown-ups are certainly very strange.” How right you are, little prince.

4.) Graham

Graham is the name of my stuffed toy racoon. He’s the size of my head and is also my sleeping buddy, my movie buddy, and really just my all around buddy whenever I need something to hug. Despite his size, he is actually very huggable.

My best friend gave him to me for Christmas and he is the most adorable thing ever. His eyes are huge and it always seems like he’s making puppy eyes at you. Making I’m making up lost time for not playing with enough toys as a kid, but I’m really glad I received Graham.

Also, it said in his tag that his name is Graham. I didn’t name him.

Gifts. We love receiving them, and even though we complain a lot about the money spent, we love giving them too. My favorite kinds of gifts are ones that come from the heart, ones where I know I’m appreciated and loved.

And most importantly, ones that help me become a better person.

One thought on “Four Best Gifts I’ve Received

Leave a Reply

