Dear Charles Schulz

Dear Charles Schulz,

Hey dude!

Did you know they made a new movie with the Peanuts gang? It’s called The Peanuts Movie and it’s the first theatrical Peanuts film in 35 years. It’s really good, man. It feels true to its spirit. Well, I guess it makes a lot of sense for it to be good because your sons are the ones producing it. Is there a DVD player in heaven? I hope there is, so you can watch the movie. You probably already have though – haven’t you?

tumblr_nxqngq9ciy1uiwxq6o1_400

35 years though. Can you believe that? I did not realize how much I missed these characters. They mean so much to me. They’re a huge part of my life, and I’m so glad the new movie happened because it just means I get to see Snoopy wherever I go. Snoopy shirts. Snoopy stuffed toys. Even Snoopy collectibles!

When I was a kid, I had one of the worst Christmases ever. I was still a kid, so at that point Christmas still meant the world to me. It was Christmas Eve, and I was upset and crying in my bedroom. To make myself feel better, I decided to play this DVD we had for quite a while now – it was called A Charlie Brown Christmas – and it made me feel so, so much better.

giphy1

Ever since then, I was obsessed with Peanuts. I read the comics. I watched the TV specials. I cried like a baby in Snoopy, Come Home. And then right after that, I reread the comics again. I even bought tickets to see Dog Sees God and You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown!

Oh, you don’t know Dog Sees God? It’s this play that’s…well, it’s basically fan fiction. It’s all the Peanuts characters as teenagers, and they deal with things like drinking and sex and even questioning your sexuality. I know – my first reaction was WHUT?! But it actually surprised me with how good it was!

You know You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown though. I mean, you liked the musical enough to animate a TV Special for it. I thought it was great too.

charlie-brown-small-900x643

Seriously, thank you, man. You’ve brought so much joy into my life. I actually promised myself that if ever I got to work in Hollywood, my first mission would be to revive Charlie Brown. And, well…guess that’s already done.

They did a better job than I would’ve, anyway.

Sincerely,
Loner From Outer Space

Leave a Reply

