Revisiting Anohana | Nostalgia Corner

When I first started watching anime back in high school, Anohana was the one of the first anime series I watched. I’m not even really sure why I watched it. I think I saw a poster of it and went, “Ahh, that looks really cute!”

Cute. Oh, what a fool I was.

Because Anohana tore my heart wide open. I’ve never had a series make me cry for every episode, but Anohana did it. And really, part of the reason why is because Anohana’s themes were themes that I hold near and dear to my heart. I’m a big friendship person. I’m a big childhood person. And when you combine those two things together…

Well, I was pretty much doomed from the start.

b4d504d6ecd0608062d605137b02e682

The Super Peace Busters also remind me a lot of my group of friends. Quite eerily so, actually. We’re also 6 – 3 boys, 3 girls. We knew each other from kindergarten. And I can pinpoint which is character is which to my friends. The big difference is that none of us ever outgrew each other. Yup, 12+ years and we’re still going strong. Pretty impressive, huh?

Now you know why friendship is a big part of me.

So with all this praise for Anohana, I must’ve seen it loads of times, right? Maybe marathoned it with my friends? Reached the point where I no longer cried during the last scene?

Well…no, actually. I never rewatched Anohana. I’ve only seen it once.

maxresdefault

I’m not a strong person, okay? The first watch already left me devastated; I didn’t want that to happen all over again. I’m not a masochist. Even for this blog post, I didn’t rewatch the damn thing. I just watched the movie. (Which, by the way, made me cry like a baby whose candy got taken away from, and then he watched his parents die.)

So no, I’m not strong enough to rewatch the series. I am strong enough to relisten to the ED…over, and over, and over again. I swear, the ED was the only thing I listened to for a month straight. I listened to almost every version of it.

m-3-3-w_ano_hana_-_04_h264_720p_4aec7673-mkv_snapshot_21-51_2011-06-25_10-31-19

The series wasn’t released that long ago, so maybe it isn’t old enough yet to be talked about on Nostalgia Corner. But goddamn it, I’m going to talk about it. Because Anohana was the first anime I obsessed over, and for that, it holds a special place in my heart. It is part of my core memories a la Inside Out. Even until now, Anohana is still the first thing I mention whenever someone new wants to talk about anime.

And really, how could it not? This series does it themes so well. Almost everybody can relate to it. We all had a childhood. We all have friends. And we all have childhood friends. And it will always be said to think how much has changed since all that. But still, nostalgia is an addictive emotion. It’s both happy and sad, emptying and fulfilling.

So I guess I was wrong. Maybe this does deserve to be in Nostalgia Corner after all.

Leave a Reply

