Here’s A List Of All Your Accomplishments

Today my dad said that I didn’t deserve a present because I had “no achievements.”

He’s a real charmer, huh?

For this to make sense (because what parent would ever say that to their kid), you should know that I dropped out of a top university because I was unhappy and wanted to fullfill my passions my way instead. Can you tell how my dad took it? In his eyes, I didn’t achieve anything.

But that’s not true. At all.

I know for a fact that I’ve achieved so much. His words didn’t phase me one bit. Sure, they hurt, but they weren’t going to bring me down. They weren’t going to get me to give up.

So here’s a list of all YOUR achievements. Yes, you, reading this right now. You need to know that every day, you’re a success. You need to know that no matter what anyone thinks of you, that’s not going to change who you are one bit.

1.) Did you wake up this morning? Congratulations! Your body loves you so much that it still woke you up this morning, it still wants you to keep going. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

2.) Did you get out of bed? Congratulations! The world is tough and it’s scary and the easiest option is to stay in bed all day and not get up at all. But you’ve managed to do it. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

3.) Do you have a person you can call your friend? Congratulations! That means somebody likes you, cares for you – you matter to someone. And you did it not because you’re related to that person, but because you were you – and your friend said “Yes, I want to be with this person.” Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

4.) Did you finish that book recently? Congratulations! You just got caught up in another world, and befriended characters made of paper. You were able to get lost in words and find meaning to a stack of papers binded together. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

5.) Did you make someone smile in the past? Congratulations! You just brightened up a person’s day, even if just for a minute. That person was probably having a crummy day til you made it less crummy. Or that person was having a great day, and you contributed to that greatness. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

6.) Did you ever create an art piece, or write a story, or doodled on your notebook? Congratulations! You have imagination. You have creativity. You have integrity and authenticity. Nobody can ever take that away from you. The human hand is incapable of creating a perfect copy. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

7.) Are you a good person? Congratulations! If you are nice to people, you are what the world needs. The world doesn’t need more darkness. The world doesn’t need more negativity. So many people can’t call themselves nice, and when they do they know they’re lying. If you are nice to people, if you say please and thank you, then keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

8.) Are you alive right now? Congratulations! You’ve overcome so much. You’ve gotten through heartbreaks, disappointments, betrayal, problems, obstacles, self-hating, and rock bottom. You could’ve given up a long time ago, but you’re still here. You still believe life is worth living. You have such an amazing mind and soul. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

9.) Are you going to sleep tonight? Congratulations! You made it through the day. You did all you could. It was tough, but you did it. Keep going, my friend. I’m so proud of you.

Being yourself is the hardest thing in the world. You would think it’d be easy, but being yourself isn’t just a one time decision – it’s in every decision you make, every word you utter, every step you walk. And it’s really difficult. But it’s so, so worth it. Because it is the only step to happiness.

Keep going, my friend.

I’m so proud of you.

2 thoughts on “Here’s A List Of All Your Accomplishments

  1. Omg I’m really sorry for you that you have parents who don’t view your decisions as achievements or believe in you. That’s really hard. 😦 I hope your father learns to accept you for who you are! And I agree: so many of the little things we do are achievements and things to be grateful for. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

