Why ‘Bart Gets an F’ Is Still My Favorite Simpsons Episode | Nostalgia Corner

Oh, don’t we all just love the Simpsons? Well, the first couple of seasons, anyway. While I still enjoy the show every now and then nothing can beat its glory days. (Which is why they should really just stop the show.)

And nothing beats Bart Gets an F as my favorite episode.

No, it’s not the funniest – that one goes out to Sex, Pies, and Idiot Scrapes. And it’s not the most emotional – that one goes out to And Maggie Makes Three. But out of all the 550+ Simpsons episodes, this is the one that I still remember, the one that sticks out to me the most. Until now, I still think about it.

Specifically, for this one scene.

sad

Oh, Bart. Poor Bart.

I think about this scene whenever I fail a test that I studied hard for. Man, grades can be so depressing sometimes. Those red letters on your test papers can make you feel so helpless. A number is enough to bring your spirits down, to crush your self-esteem and make you doubt yourself.

Like Bart, I’ve never been good with tests. I’m still not – and it’s not for the lack of trying, mind you. Another part I love about this episode is watching Bart do his best to study for his test, but all he does is get distracted. It’s easy to get distracted when you’re studying something you’re not interested in. Studying can be so draining. You can almost feel the energy being sucked out of you.

And even if you’re not in school, you can put this in real life experiences. You can work for something and still fail. You can try really hard, you can put your whole heart into it and still not get it. And it’s not for the lack of trying. Sometimes life just really sucks.

“I tried this time. I really, really tried.” Man, this second season premiere broke my heart.

Before this episode, I had never really been one for Bart. He’s a fine character – I like him enough, but he’s not one of my favorites. But this episode put him in a new light for me. At the very least, it made him someone I could empathize and relate to.

(Also, I think the writers were on to something by putting Bart Gets an F and Lisa’s Substitute in the same season. Maybe they were going through the same school troubles we’re going through now.)

What about you – what’s your favorite Simpsons episode? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

